Faussette & Faussette
Common Myths About DUIs
According to the State of Arizona Highway Safety Annual Report for the fiscal year 2018, law enforcement agencies across the state made an estimated 27,104 DUI arrests. In Arizona, driving while under the influence of drugs or alcohol is considered a serious offense. Unfortunately, there are several myths, misleading information, and false assumptions out there about Arizona DUI cases. Without proper guidance or legal representation, a defendant can easily end up in a worst-case scenario.
If you have been arrested and charged with a DUI, it is important that you retain an aggressive and highly-skilled Arizona criminal defense team immediately to outline your defense strategy. At Faussette & Faussette PLLC, we provide experienced legal services and reliable representation to clients facing drunk driving charges. As your attorneys, we can investigate the details of your situation and determine the best defense strategy in pursuit of a favorable outcome in your case.
We proudly serve clients throughout the greater Phoenix area including residents of Phoenix, Glendale, Peoria, Scottsdale, Gilbert, Tempe, Mesa, Chandler, and Goodyear, Arizona.
DUI Charges in Arizona
Under Arizona law, driving or operating a motor vehicle while under the influence of alcohol, drugs, or controlled substances, is prohibited. If you are 21 years of age or older, you may receive a drunk driving charge if your Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) level is above .08%. However, the BAC threshold for commercial drivers and drivers below 21 years of age is .04% and .00%, respectively.
Common Myths and
Facts About DUIs
In every drunk driving situation, there are bound to be collective popular notions. Many people are not aware of the facts and this often leads to unfortunate results. Knowing what to expect and being able to differentiate between facts and fiction can potentially make your DUI more manageable. Here are some common myths about DUIs in Arizona and what makes them false:
Misconception #1: A DUI
Charge Isn't Worth Fighting
Fighting your DUI charge is absolutely worth your while. If you are convicted of a DUI for the first time, you will be facing a fine of up to $500, up to six months in jail, and 50 hours of community service. Besides these, there are other devastating life-altering ramifications. If you consider the consequences of a DUI conviction, you will see that your DUI charge is worth fighting.
Misconception #2: You Must
Submit to a Field Sobriety Test
When an officer pulls you over due to suspicion of drunk driving, you may be asked to submit to a field sobriety test. A field sobriety test, however, is not mandatory in Arizona. Therefore, you may politely refuse the request to take the test.
Misconception #3: When Arrested for a DUI, I Don't Have to Submit a Urine/Blood Test
Under Arizona law, you are allowed to refuse the chemical test (breathalyzer, blood, or urine test). However, once you refuse, your driver's license will be immediately revoked for a minimum 12-month period. Therefore, you're strongly advised against doing so.
Misconception #4: I Am Obligated to
Answer All of the Officer's Questions
When stopped by a police officer, you don't have any obligation to answer the officer's questions. Speak respectfully to the police officer. Be polite and non-confrontational. However, do not answer any question that may give evidence that may be used against you.
Misconception #5: A DUI Will Fall
Off My Record in Seven Years
In Arizona, a drunk driving conviction is a criminal conviction. Unfortunately, a criminal conviction never goes away in Arizona. Therefore, a DUI conviction will remain on your criminal record forever. From a punishment viewpoint, however, a misdemeanor DUI conviction lasts for seven years.
DUI Defense Attorneys
Serving Phoenix, Arizona
Defending your Arizona DUI charges by yourself can increase your risk of being convicted and suffering the maximum punishment. If convicted, you could be facing substantial fines, lengthy jail time, license suspension, and other social ramifications. Therefore, when facing drunk driving charges, retaining knowledgeable criminal defense attorneys is paramount to protect your rights and driving privileges.
At Faussette & Faussette PLLC, we have devoted our practice to handling DUI cases and protecting the rights of individuals facing drunk driving charges. As your legal counsel, we can review the circumstances surrounding your unique situation, carry out a comprehensive investigation, and outline an effective defense strategy for your case. We will fight vigorously to protect your rights, protect your driving privileges, and ensure that you receive fair treatment. Having us on your side can increase your chances of a favorable outcome in your drunk driving case.
Facing DUI charges can be a scary experience. Contact us at Faussette & Faussette PLLC today to schedule a case evaluation and take advantage of our extensive legal experience and knowledge. We can offer you the comprehensive legal guidance and strong representation you need. Our firm proudly represents clients throughout the greater Phoenix area.