Faussette & Faussette
Know The Drunk Driving Laws In Arizona
Drunk Driving Laws in Arizona
Arizona has some of the toughest drunk driving laws in the United States. You should think twice before drinking and getting behind the wheel in the Phoenix area because Arizona is a no-tolerance state when it comes to DUI (driving under the influence). That means that you can actually be arrested with a BAC (blood-alcohol content) of less than 0.08, which is the legal limit.
Driving Under The Influence
There are three types of DUIs in Arizona: standard, extreme, and super extreme. The penalties for drunk driving in Arizona increase based on how many DUIs you’ve had, and your BAC. A standard DUI in Arizona is considered a BAC of 0.08 or more.
For your first offense, you can expect to serve 10 days of jail time and pay more than $1,500 in fines. Your driver’s license can be suspended for 90 days or even revoked for a whole year. An ignition interlock device will be placed on your vehicle for one year, and you’ll be required to undergo counseling.
If you get a second standard DUI, you’ll likely be serving 90 days in jail with the possibility of home detention. Fines will be more than $3,500 and your driver’s license will be revoked for one year. You’ll also need an interlock device for a year and have to serve 30 hours of community service.
In Arizona, an extreme DUI is given to someone who is caught driving with a BAC of 0.15 or more. The first offense will get you 30 days in jail, more than $2,500 in fines, a 90-day driving suspension, and an interlock device for 12 months. Your second offense means 120 days in jail, more than $3,500 in fines, a one-year revocation of your license and mandatory interlock device, and 30 hours of community service.
The most severe form of a DUI in Arizona is a super extreme DUI, which means a BAC of 0.20 or more. You’ll be sentenced to 45 days in jail and have to pay more than $3,000 in fines. You will lose your license for 90 days and have an interlock device on your vehicle for 18 months. A second super extreme DUI will result in 180 days in jail, over $4,500 in fines, a one-year suspension of your license, two years of an interlock device, and 30 hours of community service.
How To Handle An Arrest
At the time of your arrest, you should be given a breathalyzer test and your Miranda rights before booking. You need an attorney at this point because fighting this can cost you a lot more than handling it on your own. Think of it as hiring a professional to handle a major leak in your home as opposed to just going to a hardware store by yourself. We are Arizona natives and have strong and extensive background in handling court cases. Put us to work for you to help you.
As you now know, drunk driving in Arizona is no joke. If you’ve been arrested for a DUI, contact Faussette & Faussette for a free confidential consultation by calling 844.LAW.TWIN (529.8946).